Why was the Y Kall mini chainsaw stopped at the UK border?
A small battery-powered chainsaw branded Y Kall was blocked from entering the United Kingdom. The Office for Product Safety and Standards found two serious safety failures that make the tool dangerous to use.
The tool that never reached the shelves
A hand-held electric chainsaw with a six inch cutting bar and removable battery packs arrived at a UK border checkpoint. The box and the machine body both carry the name Y Kall. Inspectors from the Office for Product Safety and Standards examined the shipment and issued a product safety report numbered 2607-0053. The alert was published on 8 October 2026. The risk level was rated serious. The product category is listed as Machinery – Chain Saws (Powered). Country of origin is China.
Two separate failures
The guard does not automatically stop the cutting chain when it touches an object. That means the chain keeps spinning after contact, exposing the user to moving teeth and raising the risk of cuts and lacerations. The plug fitted to the charger does not meet British standards. Live parts can be touched, creating a risk of electric shock. Both defects violate specific UK regulations.
Stopped at the border
The import was rejected at the border. No units were released for sale in the UK. The measure type is recorded as import rejected at border.
What the regulations require
The Supply of Machinery (Safety) Regulations 2008 demand that a chain brake stops the chain automatically on contact. The Plugs and Sockets etc (Safety) Regulations 1994 require plugs that prevent access to live parts. This chainsaw meets neither requirement.
What remains unknown
The report does not name the manufacturer or the importer. It does not indicate if the same model is sold under other brand names. How many may have reached other markets is not stated. Whether any injuries occurred before the interception is also not stated. The notification was made by the Office for Product Safety and Standards. The PSD notification number is 2607-0053.
The sources this article was written from
- "OPSS (UK)
https://www.gov.uk/product-safety-alerts-reports-recalls/product-safety-report-y-kall-mini-electric-chainsaw-2607-0053"