What does Google's new AI training series actually give teachers this September?
Google has opened registration for a free, virtual training event on September 19, 2026, and added monthly modules to its Google AI Educator Series. The program targets K-12 teachers who want practical AI skills without leaving their classrooms.
A teacher opens a laptop on a Sunday evening. The inbox holds forty unread parent emails, three lesson plans need differentiating, and a new district mandate asks for AI integration by October. Google's answer arrives as a calendar invite: ten hours of live training, broken into thirty-minute blocks, with a digital badge at the end.
The Google AI Educator Series launched in May 2026 after educators told the company that professional development must fit into the small pockets of time teachers actually have. Sessions take less than fifteen minutes each. New modules drop on the first Wednesday of every month. The September 19 Badge-a-thon runs from 9:00 AM to 7:00 PM Eastern Time.
Monthly modules built for the next day's lesson
Feedback from the initial cohort produced two clear requests. Teachers wanted immediate classroom application. They also wanted a space to share what worked. The monthly cadence answers the first. The Badge-a-thon answers the second.
Four new modules illustrate the direction. One shows how to automate parent notification emails when assignments go missing. Another introduces Gemini's Guided Learning feature, which walks students through complex problems with Socratic prompts instead of answers. A third demonstrates Deep Research for student inquiry projects at the higher-education level. The fourth, "AI Quest: Market Marshes," teaches game-based learning around real-world topics like flood forecasting.
Each module includes rigorous checks for understanding. The partnership with ISTE+ASCD — a global network for K-12 curriculum design and educational technology — shapes the badge alignment. Badges earned during the live event carry ISTE verification.
Inside the ten-hour Badge-a-thon
Saturday, September 19, 2026. The virtual doors open at 9:00 AM ET and close at 7:00 PM ET. Every thirty minutes follows the same rhythm. A lightning talk from a fellow teacher shares a classroom hack — drafting parent letters or customizing reading levels in seconds. A module overview walks through the official curriculum. Then participants complete the quiz together, earn the verified badge, and enter custom swag giveaways.
The event is free. Registration happens at goo.gle/GESBadgeathon. No travel, no substitute plans, no multi-day conference fatigue. Teachers drop in for the blocks that fit their schedule.
What the announcement does not say
The blog post does not disclose how many educators have completed the series since May. It does not specify whether the monthly modules remain free indefinitely or only during an introductory period. It does not detail the technical requirements for participating in the live badging sessions. It does not name the specific ISTE standards each badge aligns to. It does not mention whether recordings will be available after the live event for teachers in other time zones.
The program exists. The date is set. The registration link works. Everything else waits for the teacher who clicks it.
The sources this article was written from
- "Google Products blog
https://blog.google/products-and-platforms/products/education/new-ai-educator-trainings-september-2026/"