What does Google's free AI year for students actually unlock in Workspace?

Google has added AI features to its Workspace apps for the new school year. The company calls the bundle Gemini and says it can organize notes, build planners, and take meeting notes automatically.

The offer on the table

Eligible college students in the United States can claim one year of Google AI Pro at no cost. The plan normally costs $19.99 per month. Outside the United States the same offer provides one year of Google AI Plus for free in over 140 markets. Bolivia, Albania, Canada, Macau, Hong Kong, and Tunisia are excluded. Both deals require a valid form of payment at sign‑up. Unless cancelled earlier the subscription will auto‑charge the regular monthly price after the trial ends. The redemption window closes on December 31, 2026.

Pro unlocks every Workspace AI feature described below plus four‑times higher usage limits in Gemini compared with non‑AI subscribers. It also adds Gemini Spark, 5 TB of storage, and Google Health Premium. Plus includes Gemini in Vids, two‑times higher usage limits, and 400 GB of storage. The difference in storage alone is more than tenfold.

How the seven tools change the semester workflow

Sheets canvas turns a spreadsheet into an interactive mini app. You feed it a class schedule and syllabus data then ask for a Kanban board sorted by status with a color‑coded calendar and subject filters. Edits in the canvas and the underlying spreadsheet stay in sync. The feature works on desktop in English in select countries for users on eligible plans.

In Google Docs the assistant transforms highlighted notes into structured study guides. A single prompt can produce five bulleted takeaways and three potential exam questions. Another prompt routed through the image generator creates an infographic from the same material. Availability follows the same desktop‑English‑select‑country pattern.

Native deck generation in Google Slides builds a full presentation from a syllabus, essay, or research paper. You describe the topic or reference a Drive file, answer clarifying questions, and optionally supply a past deck as a style reference. The result matches typography, colors, and layout of the reference. Desktop, English, select countries, eligible plans.

Gmail’s AI Inbox organizes campus newsletters, dorm announcements, and project threads into suggested to‑dos and topic clusters. The feature appears on the left panel after smart features are enabled in both Workspace and other products. First to‑dos and topics may take up to seven days to appear. Mobile and desktop, English, United States only, eligible plans.

Meet captures action items, key decisions, and screenshots into a Google Doc saved to the host’s Drive and emailed after the call. The same pencil icon works for in‑person discussions without launching a full video meeting. Mobile and desktop, select languages and countries, eligible plans. The in‑person mode currently runs on Android and is rolling out to iOS and desktop.

Google Vids creates, edits, and collaborates on videos. You can generate music, add AI avatars, and invite collaborators with Editor access. A prompt like “Create a high‑energy welcome video for our club” produces a draft. Recording clips directly into the timeline is built in. Creation and editing remain desktop‑only; viewing works on mobile too. AI features in English, select countries, eligible plans.

Forms builds graded practice quizzes from web content or Drive files. A prompt for a ten‑question multiple‑choice quiz on Hammurabi’s code returns questions with correct answers preset for self‑grading. Desktop, English, select countries, eligible plans.

Where the limits show up

Every feature above carries a footnote restricting it to desktop, English, select countries, and eligible Google AI or Workspace plans. Gmail AI Inbox is further limited to the United States. Google Vids creation and editing is desktop‑only. The in‑person Meet note‑taker is Android‑first with iOS and desktop rollout still in progress. The blog post does not say how many students are currently eligible or how many have already claimed the offer. It also does not specify whether the four‑times and two‑times usage‑limit multipliers apply to token counts, request rates, or both.

No pricing is given for the post‑trial period in local currencies outside the United States beyond the statement that Google AI Plus will charge $4.99 per month or local currency equivalent. The terms for Google Health Premium are not detailed in the announcement. The document does not mention whether existing Google One subscribers can stack the storage or must choose one plan.

What happens after the free year

When the twelve months expire the subscription converts to a paid plan at the standard monthly rate. Cancellation is possible at any time. The blog post does not explain whether Workspace files created with Gemini features remain editable if the AI subscription lapses. It also does not state whether the higher usage limits persist in a downgraded tier. Students who miss the December 31, 2026 deadline lose the free‑year offer entirely.

The offer expires.

The sources this article was written from

  • "Google Products blog
    https://blog.google/products-and-platforms/products/workspace/gemini-google-workspace-back-to-school/"

Read next