What does the new nuclear fuel plan mean for domestic uranium supply?
The Department of Energy has published a plan of action for the Material Sufficiency Committee under a voluntary agreement authorized by the Defense Production Act. The document sets out how mining, conversion, and enrichment companies will coordinate to expand domestic uranium supply chains for national security and civilian reactors.
A committee built on a Cold War law
The Defense Production Act of 1950 gives the federal government authority to coordinate private industry when national defense requires it. Section 708 allows companies to share information and align production plans without violating antitrust law, provided the government supervises the process. The Energy Department invoked this authority after President Biden declared a national energy emergency in January 2025 and issued an executive order to reinvigorate the nuclear industrial base in May 2025.
The Material Sufficiency Committee is one of three committees created under the "Nuclear Fuel Cycle Consortium" voluntary agreement. Its mandate: produce enough nuclear material domestically to sustain existing and projected reactor operations without relying on foreign supply. The plan of action published on August 10, 2026, is the committee's operating manual. It was signed by Theodore Garrish, Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy, on July 28, 2026, under delegated authority from the Secretary of Energy.
Three subcommittees, one moonshot
The committee splits its work across three subcommittees. Mining & Milling focuses on accelerating U.S.-origin, unobligated natural uranium concentrate (U3O8). Conversion evaluates and strengthens domestic uranium hexafluoride (UF6) production capacity. Enrichment assesses and revitalizes domestic enrichment for both low-enriched uranium (LEU — under 10% U-235) and high-assay low-enriched uranium (HALEU — 10% to 19.75% U-235).
All three feed a single target: the "Nuclear Dominance—3 by 33" moonshot challenge, branded internally as "Operation Nuclear Warp Speed." The goal is 400 gigawatts of nuclear capacity by 2050. That number appears in the demand-side survey instructions: "Determine demand for reactors to get to Moonshot of 400GW by 2050 that are beyond any company's business plan."
The 60-day clock starts now
Two deliverables are due within 60 days of the plan's adoption. First, a report examining how to establish a "defense-priority permitting lane" for designated national security uranium projects. The lane would use general permits, permit-by-rule, and elimination of non-statutory administrative delays to speed projects that could deliver domestically mined, milled, converted, unobligated U3O8 or UF6 before 2033.
Second, a gap assessment developed with the Nuclear Energy Institute and an independent third party. The assessment must identify and quantify medium-to-long-term gaps in domestic conversion and enrichment capacity for LEU and HALEU, across commercial and government customers. It must link directly to national demand projections for defense, advanced reactors, and existing civilian reactors. A follow-on assessment using the Energy Information Administration may come later.
Who shows up and who watches
Participation criteria are specific. Members must attend no less than 75% of scheduled meetings and submit accepted deliverables on time. Failure means suspension of membership privileges, including loss of voting rights and removal from the committee. Each company submits a "capability statement" mapping its contribution to committee goals.
One DOE Chair convenes the group, conveys DOE priorities, coordinates between participants, and administers the plan. Two Industry Co-leads are voted by other participants and rotate every six months. A representative of the Department of Justice or Federal Trade Commission must attend every committee meeting. A federal representative must attend all substantive working group meetings. DOJ and FTC must be notified of such meetings and may attend at their discretion.
The companies named so far
For the permitting lane deliverable, five companies have committed: enCore Energy, Energy Fuels, DISA, IsoEnergy, and Laramide Resources/NuFuels. For providing uranium data toward the permitting lane and the Strategic Uranium Reserve, eleven companies are listed: Anfield Energy, Cameco Resources, DISA, enCore Energy, Energy Fuels, General Atomics, IsoEnergy, Laramide Resources/NuFuels, Strata Energy, Uranium Energy Corporation, and Ur-Energy.
The conversion and enrichment gap assessment lists demand-side and supply-side survey tasks with company lists marked "TBC" — to be confirmed. The document does not say how many of these companies currently operate producing facilities versus developing projects.
Antitrust shield with conditions
Under DPA section 708(j), participants receive a defense to civil or criminal antitrust claims for actions taken to develop or carry out the plan. The defense applies only if the participant fully complied with DPA section 708, the rules promulgated thereunder, and the terms of the voluntary agreement and this plan. The action must have been specified in or within the scope of the plan, taken at the direction and under active supervision of DOE. The defense evaporates the moment the plan is modified for any action beyond the modified scope, and it does not apply after the plan terminates.
Records stay on Microsoft Teams
Every committee, subcommittee, and working group meeting must produce a record of participants, objectives, outcomes, and next steps. All meetings will be recorded with transcripts on Microsoft Teams. The DOE Chair keeps the record. Any substantive meeting among industry participants without the DOE Chair is subject to the same requirements. The plan does not state whether these records will be made public or remain under government control.
What the document does not say
The notice publishes the plan of action but does not include the full voluntary agreement text. Definitions, effective dates, duration, modification procedures, expense allocation, and withdrawal rules are referenced but not reproduced. The document does not state how the 400 GW target was derived, what baseline capacity it assumes, or how it accounts for reactor retirements. It does not specify funding sources for the expanded mining, conversion, or enrichment capacity. The Strategic Uranium Reserve is mentioned but not defined in this notice. The plan authorizes follow-on actions and subsequent plans of action, but no timeline for those is given.
The sources this article was written from
- "Federal Register, 91 FR 51477, August 10, 2026
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2026/08/10/2026-16226/plan-of-action-under-the-defense-production-act-material-sufficiency-committee"