What does the new iPad mini change for someone who already owns one?

Apple has released a new iPad mini. It is a small tablet that fits in one hand and now carries an OLED screen, a faster chip, and water resistance.

Thinner frame, larger screen, same footprint

The new model measures 5.4 mm thick. That is thinner than the previous generation, though Apple does not state the exact millimeter difference. Weight is also reduced, but the press release gives no gram figure. The 8.5-inch OLED panel grows larger while the overall footprint stays the same, thanks to bezels that are 24 percent thinner. Two finishes are offered: midnight and starlight. An IP67 rating means the device can survive immersion in up to one meter of water for 30 minutes. The sealed enclosure that enables this rating also serves the new audio system.

Display numbers that matter

Peak brightness reaches 1200 nits, more than double the previous generation. Full-screen brightness sits at 600 nits for both SDR and HDR content. Contrast ratio is 2,000,000:1. Minimum brightness drops to 1 nit, which helps in dark rooms. The panel covers the P3 wide color gamut. A nano-texture option cuts glare for outdoor work. Apple does not say whether the nano-texture layer affects peak brightness or contrast.

A20 Pro and the AI focus

The chip is built on a 2-nanometer process with packaging inspired by M-series Mac chips. It carries a 7-core GPU. Each GPU core includes Neural Accelerators. The 512GB configuration adds a Dual 16-core Neural Engine — 32 cores total — doubling the neural-engine core count of the previous generation. Apple claims up to 4.5x faster AI performance and up to 2.7x graphics performance. The CPU offers up to 6 cores and up to 60 percent faster multithreaded throughput. Unified memory bandwidth increases more than 2x. The press release does not state the base memory amount for the 128GB and 256GB models.

Cameras move to the landscape edge

The 12MP Center Stage front camera now sits on the long side. This matches how most people hold the mini for video calls. The 12MP Wide rear camera keeps Smart HDR 4 and 4K video at 60 fps. An Adaptive True Tone flash joins the array for document scanning and low-light photos. No LiDAR scanner is mentioned.

N1, C2, and the first Wi-Fi 7 on a mini

The N1 chip brings Wi-Fi 7, Bluetooth 6, and Thread. Apple says it improves 5 GHz performance and makes AirDrop and AirPlay more reliable. Cellular models get the C2 modem, which delivers up to 50 percent faster cellular data speeds with better power efficiency. eSIM support remains. The release does not specify which 5G bands C2 supports or whether mmWave is included.

iPadOS 27 and Siri AI in beta

The tablet ships with iPadOS 27. Siri AI rolls out in beta. It can draw on personal context across messages, emails, and photos. It can act on what is on screen. It answers general-knowledge questions. System-wide dictation accuracy improves. Image Playground generates photorealistic images. Safari gains a Notify Me feature for page changes. Private Cloud Compute handles cloud requests without storing personal data. Extended display support for external monitors arrives in iPadOS 27.2. The release does not say when the Siri AI beta expands beyond the initial languages.

Pricing, storage, and accessories

Pre-orders open October 28. General availability starts November 6. Three capacities: 128GB, 256GB, 512GB. Wi-Fi model starts at $699. Wi-Fi + Cellular starts at $849. Education pricing drops the Wi-Fi entry to $649. The new Smart Folio uses TechWoven fabric in navy blue and taupe, costs $79, and adopts a two-panel hinge for more viewing angles. Apple Pencil Pro ($129) and Apple Pencil USB-C ($79) both work. The release does not mention whether the older second-generation Pencil is supported.

Environmental claims

The enclosure uses 100 percent recycled aluminum. The battery uses 100 percent recycled cobalt. Overall recycled content is 35 percent. Manufacturing uses 40 percent renewable energy across the supply chain. Packaging is 100 percent fiber-based. Apple does not publish the carbon footprint for this specific model.

What the release does not say

Battery life in hours is absent. RAM amounts per tier are absent. The exact weight in grams is absent. Whether the nano-texture option adds cost is absent. Whether the 128GB and 256GB models share the same Neural Engine core count as the 512GB model is absent. The Siri AI language rollout timeline is absent.

The sources this article was written from

  • Apple Newsroom
    https://www.apple.com/newsroom/2026/10/apple-gives-ipad-mini-its-biggest-update-ever/

Read next